Great quote from ‘Guernsey’

Found this gem while skipping through The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer.  Expect a full review sometime soon, as I’m fairly plowing through it (I started yesterday at lunch, now I’m more than halfway done). I thought this quote was especially appropriate considering my current profession.  Also, I’m going to consider my work at Half-Price as “clerking” from now on.  It sounds so much more Victorian, don’t you think?

I love seeing the bookshops and meeting the booksellers–booksellers really are a special breed. No one in their right mind would take up clerking in a bookstore for the salary, and no one in his right mind would want to own one–the margin of profit is too small. So, it has to be a love of readers and reading that makes them do it–along with first dibs on the new books.

Leave a Reply

