What I’ve been doing

So I know I tend to go AWOL occasionally on this blog, and I apologize for that.  It seems that I have about 20 ideas for this blog in one day, then go dry for about a week.  I’ll try to work on that, I promise.  But in the meantime, I’ll give you an idea of why I’ve been missing from all of your lives.

NOTE:  Some of this has nothing to do with books, because there’s actually more that defines my life than reading.  I have been reading, but a few things have come up to interrupt my morning reading time, and so Get a Financial Life is coming slower than I thought.  At work, I’ve been working on an old issue of The New Yorker, but the good news is that both are coming to a close.  Expect a reading update and a new book in the near future.

Sports

I know what you’re thinking…the Paperback Fool doesn’t like sports!  I mean, you follow her on Twitter.  You saw how pissed off she was when the World Series cut into her ‘House’-watching time.  Well, you would be right…to a point.  The Paperback Fool certainly doesn’t understand all the hoopla surrounding professional and college sports, and would much rather spend her time enjoying a good book than standing in a crowded stadium full of screaming idiots.   But sometimes, exceptions must be made.

And, there are even a few sports that I enjoy.  Soccer is one; I played soccer for 12 years growing up, and absolutely love the game.  I love watching it, playing it, and analyzing it.  Unfortunately, it is rarely on television, and when it is, I can’t watch it because I don’t have cable.  But David Beckham leaving the LA Galaxy for AC Milan wasn’t much of a surprise, even if I am out of the loop, considering the fact that Beckham failed at making soccer “hot” for Americans.  Ah well, at least there’s Miami University hockey, which swept the University of Michigan this weekend for the first time in school history.  If you’re not a college hockey fan, you may not realize that a mid-sized school from Ohio is ranked higher than the titans from up north, but we are.  And it’s a good thing.  I will admit, my alma mater and hockey is a strange pairing.  We’re traditionally a football school (we’re from Ohio), but after our football team took  a multi-year nosedive in winning averages, Redhawk spirit was funneled to our hockey team and the rest is history.  We went to the NCAA championship game last year, where we choked and lost to BU.  However, it was the first Miami team to go to a NCAA championship in school history and now we’re ranked No. 1 in the nation.

Then, there’s the sports from last night.  Oy, my head still hurts.  As you may know, my boyfriend attends the University of Cincinnati and so last night we attended the UC vs. UConn football game at Nippert Stadium, here in Cincy.  Now, I admitted to liking hockey and soccer…but that’s IT.  For me, football is the most boring game in the world, right above baseball (ick).  But because being in a serious relationship demands compromises, I cheer for UC football out of respect and love for Joel (well, except when UC plays Miami).  I mean, football games are great venues for social interaction with Joel’s friends, many of which I rarely see because I work so much.  And it can be exciting…occasionally.  Anyway, UC is ranked pretty high this year and the game was on ABC last night, so it was a “big game.”  We won, but it was pretty damn close: 47-45.  Anyway, go Bearcats!

Sick

And that’s enough about sports.  The reason my head hurt after the UConn game was because I have been recovering from a bad cold/mild flu all week.  This, in turn, made me unable to update this lovely blog in the evenings, much less do anything else.  Luckily, it’s not bad–I don’t think I have the swine flu–but it’s been really annoying.  Last night, eight hours of work and then standing at a crowded football game for three hours brought on a recurrance of my symptons, and I went to bed very early last night.  The same goes for Tuesday night.  I think I’m beginning to feel better, but here’s to hoping…

Money

You may hear more of this in my review of Get a Financial Life by Beth Kobliner, but the state of my financials has been worrying me lately.  Last week, I recieved notification of my first student loan payment, which is due this December.  I was put on the standard repayment plan (for Stafford student loans, that’s 10 years of the same monthly payment), which is ideally what I wanted.  You pay the least interest using this plan, and you feel as if you’re paying it off quicker.  Unfortunately, the monthly payment for my debt was a wee bit higher than I expected.  So after a bit of panicking, I called my mom, did a few re-calculations on the direct loans Web site, and then re-adjusted my payments so they’re much more reasonable for my current income level.  Luckily, I can always change this in the future (when I’ll hopefully be making more money).  But as you can see, worrying about money is quite the time-suck, and again, this blog was forgotten.

Shopping

Because I have no money (see above), shopping has sort of fallen out of my lexicon lately.  My mom took me clothes shopping a few weeks ago, but I firmly believe it was because she felt bad for me, since I hadn’t purchased new clothes since last spring.  How could I?  Ever since I decided to go to SPI, the money situation has been tight.  But here in Cincy, our nicest mall recently opened an H&M and Nordstrums, and as I hadn’t been to the mall in ages, the boyfriend and I made a trip to explore.  We didn’t buy anything, but it was nice walking around, enjoying the Christmas decorations, browsing expensive merchandise, feeling all materialistic.  Anyway, that knocked out another night of blogging, and I feel like I should own up, even if it was completely innocent.

Television

I know, we should reading books…NOT paying attention to the boob tube.  But I can’t help it.  My boyfriend frowns at the amount of television I watch on a weekly basis, but I have my excuses.  Growing up, I had cable and so grew addicted to things like HGTV, the Food Network, the Travel Channel, E!, VH1, Law & Order…it was pretty bad.  But these channels always had something on during the day, and so I grew used to always having something to watch.  Now, with no cable, my television-watching is severely limited.  So I have been weening myself off the lack of cable by increasing the number of shows I watch weekly, thereby always giving me something to watch.  Make sense?  Probably not, but oh well.  This week was the season finale of Greek (which I have to watch online), so that took up time.  There was also Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice on Thursday night.  I’m actually behind this week…I haven’t yet caught up on this week’s The Hills/City or Ghosthunters.  But you see, my attention is already divided and you’re just going to have to get used to it.

So, here’s to the promise that I won’t be gone for much longer.  Now that I’ve listed all my excuses for not reading or blogging about the literary world, they seem quite pathetic.  Thanks for listening, and I hope you enjoyed the small peak into the rest of my life.  Now, get on with living your own and I’ll meet you back here later.

Leave a Reply

