Amazon’s top 100 books of 2009: part 1

I always get so excited when I stumble across a new “best of…” booklist.  Maybe it’s my insane love of list-making and organization.  Maybe it’s the fact that I didn’t read much on my day off yesterday, and I feel guilty.  Who knows.  All I know is that Amazon’s Omnivoracious blog has posted the first 20 books of their “Best Books of the Year” countdown.   So exciting! Check back everyday for more of the list, as they’ll be posting 20 more everyday this week until next Monday, when they premiere the entire list.  I’ll post the first 20 here, then wait til next week to report on them all.  Happy reading!

100.  The Interrogative Mood by Padgett Powell
99.  The First Family: Terror, Extortion, Revenge, Murder, and the Birth of the American Mafia by Mike Dash
98.  The Anthologist by Nicholson Baker
97.  Imperial by William T. Vollman
96.  Asylum: Inside the Closed World of State Mental Hospitals by Christopher Payne
95.  The American Painter Emma Dial by Samantha Peale
94.  Inherent Vice by Thomas Pynchon
93.  Nobody Move by Dennis Johnson
92.  The BLDGBLOG Book by Geoff Manaugh
91.  American on Purpose by Craig Ferguson
90.  D-Day by Antony Beevor
89.  The Complete Stories of J.G. Ballard by J.G. Ballard
88.  The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt
87.  Half-Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls
86.  Rapt: Attention and the Focused Life by Winnifred Gallagher
85.  Born to Run by Christopher McDougall
84.  The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
83.  American Rust by Phillip Meyer
82.  Never Smile at a Monkey by Steve Jenkins
81.  The Jazz Loft Project by Sam Stephenson

Now, I’m not going to run out and change my reading schedule because of this list in particular.  I have the feeling that Amazon lists the relatively few books they chose to review favorably during the year, and who knows if the ranking means anything.  I mean, The Children’s Book was on the Booker shortlist, but A.S. Byatt is relegated to No. 88?  And what’s all this buzz I’m hearing about Half-Broke Horses if it’s only No. 87?  But at the very least, if I decide I want to tackle a 2009 publication, this least can lead me to some potentially good reads.

Leave a Reply

