One of those days

You know when “those days” come around?  The ones where everyone on the road insists on driving 10 mph below the speed limit?  The ones where you forget your water bottle, and can’t buy anything from the snack machines because all you have is a $10 bill (the machine only takes $1s and $5s…dammit!)?  The ones where all you crave is to change into your pajamas at 3:30 in the afternoon and watch the Food Network and Law & Order til dinner?

Yep, it’s been one of those days.  I can’t seem to find my rhythm and just when things start to look up, something jumps out to annoy me.  Ugh.

My favorite picture of SK

My favorite picture of SK

It’s been so bad, I forgoed my usual afternoon reading routine for (as I mentioned) television.  However, I don’t know if today is quite right for my new book, The Stephen King Story: A Literary Profile.  Don’t get me wrong:  I’m already quite excited by what I’m reading.  As I might have already mentioned, I am obsessed with the work of Stephen King (I have an entire shelf devoted to his paperbacks).  I’ve already read (and LOVE) On Writing, his pseudo autobiography, and so I already know quite a bit of his life story and wasn’t expecting to be surprised.  But the author, George Beahm, approaches The Stephen King Story as a TRUE literary profile.  He dissects King’s writing and style, and focuses only on those experiences that played a part in forming King’s distinctive literary voice.  Of course, it’s a bit behind the times–the book was published in 1991, and as we all know, King is still publishing like mad.  But I appreciate the analysis, as well as the high quality photographs scattered throughout the book.  The fact that I love these photographs so much–ones of his childhood home, King as a bearded undergrad at the University of Maine–reminds me that I’m a little bit of a creeper, but no matter!  It’s thicker than I thought and slow reading at times, so it might take awhile.  Hopefully I hope I don’t get antsy for some fiction, because I feel that attempting to read two books at the same time right now wouldn’t work as well as it has in the past.

In other exciting news, my former journalism professor at Miami University, Jim Tobin, has just published a children’s book, Sue MacDonald Had a Book.  Tobin was an amazing professor: he taught my senior capstone in writing narrative nonfiction, and actually gave me my most recent read, The Book Business.  I’m sure his children’s book will do well, and already Amazon is collecting some good reviews from Booklist and Publishers Weekly.  If you have young children, or know someone who does, I would definitely reccomend it.

Also, as a bit of promotion for my alma mater and first “real job,” this year’s first issue of The Miami Student, Miami’s student newspaper, came out today!  The story on the new sophomore living requirement–which requires sticking sophomore transfer students into basement bunk rooms!–is worth a read.  The new staff also put the paper through another redesign (our staff redesigned the paper a year ago, as well), and I’m sure they’d appreciate any feedback.

Now, we had staff turnover last February, so I have already gone through the heartbreak that is watching “your” newspaper being published by hands other than your own.  There’s usually a great deal of bitching the next day, as well as cries of “How can we trust our baby with these people?”  I try to avoid talk like that as much as possible out of respect for the new staff (all of whom I love and helped hire).  Then, when I really can’t help myself, I tell myself I’m being silly and petty and read stories like this.  It helps to laugh at oneself when one starts flipping out about something as trivial as your former college newspaper.

Leave a Reply

