Let The Great World Spin

let-the-great-world-spin-0809-lgTina Brown was on NPR’s Morning Edition today, giving Steve the rundown on what’s she’s reading.  Brown is, of course, the former editor of both Vanity Fair and The New Yorker (making her a god to me), and is now editor-in-chief of the online news aggregator and commentary site, The Daily Beast.  As I live and die by The Daily Beast’s Cheat Sheet every morning, it’s a given that I would read anything recommended by Brown.

The same goes for books.  This morning, Brown talked about Let The Great World Spin by Colum McCann.  While I was in New York, McCann was scheduled to give a reading at a nearby Barnes and Noble, and while I’ve heard my bookish friends praise the book via Twitter for awhile, I never gave much thought to the Irish author.  Probably because I’m not the biggest fan of books about Ireland.  But Let The Great World Spin takes a look at New York during the seedy 1970s, with five tales interwoven around one man walking a tightrope between the World Trade Center towers.  The book was Amazon’s Best of the Month in June, with the review claiming “Colum McCann has worked some exquisite magic with Let The Great World Spin…”  It also appears to have been one of Oprah’s picks.

Now, I’ll admit that I jump on literary bandwagons late—I like to wait and see if “new and hot” books are as good as people claim.  But this one looks like a winner, and if Tina Brown says it’s good, I’ll have to put it on my list.

Leave a Reply

